Secondaire
SEARCH

Award recipients
GALA FORCES AVENIR
2009


AVENIR 2009
Mutual aid, peace and justice






Making Waves Montreal

Mutual aid, peace and justice



Making Waves Montreal

Committed to giving disabled children the chance to learn to swim

All parents hope that their children will one day learn to swim and there are many programs available to satisfy this desire. But when your child is autistic, suffers from Down Syndrome or has a hearing or visual impairment, the resources available for teaching them to swim are rare and, above all, very costly. To remedy the situation, students at McGill University decided to join forces and establish the Making Waves Montreal program that offers private swimming lessons for a special clientele at a cost that is almost… symbolic.

The founders launched their program in 2004 under the name Blind Swim Montreal, focusing their efforts on helping children with visual disabilities but they quickly realized that this need touched a much broader clientele. “More and more parents began enquiring about our services and there seemed to be a definite interest,” explains the program’s spokesman Matthew Morantz. “In 2006 we therefore decided to extend our program to meet other special needs and to change the name to Making Waves Montreal. There were five children enrolled in our program the first year; today there are more than 40.”

Since its inception, a total of almost 100 children have benefited from the Making Waves program and have progressed thanks to their private teacher, a student volunteer from McGill. Numbering over sixty, the team of volunteer instructors were first given the necessary training for working with children with special needs. The role of instructor first and foremost requires a great deal of patience and perseverance as well as a good dose of creativity, but is nonetheless highly rewarding.

“Although my courses teach me all I need to know to become an engineer, I have never been taught how to become an adult and be committed to my community. (…) Making Waves has allowed me to touch the lives of a number of youngsters in a tangible and lasting manner. It has been an exceptionally enriching experience,” asserts volunteer instructor Marie-Christine NoÎl.

And it is not only the program’s volunteers that make the difference. At a time when Making Waves was experiencing financial difficulties, other students at McGill pulled together in order to help support the organization financially by organizing fundraising activities and by talking about the program in the university newspapers. “This unsolicited involvement enabled us to raise the money required to continue pursuing our mission,” Matthew explains, adding that parents can call upon the services of a private instructor for their child for an entire session of nine lessons for only $20.

The positive repercussions of Making Waves can be felt far beyond the Montréal region. Spurred on by their success, the student members of the program established Making Waves Canada, a program that will oversee the implementation of the same type of project at other Canadian universities. Making Waves McMaster in Hamilton is already up and running and another should soon be operational in London.

“If I hadn’t had recourse to the program, Harlan would never be where he is today. I am really impressed by the work and efficiency of the students in charge of the program. May the program live on,” remarks Nina L. Padden, mother of Harlan, an autistic child.



Making Waves Montreal




RESSOURCES

VIDEOS

Get the Flash Player to see this player.


PICTURES


Look at the photos gallery


VALORISER L'ENGAGEMENT ÉTUDIANT POUR FAVORISER L'ENRICHISSEMENT DU SAVOIR
Home / University Program / Finalists / Making Waves Montreal /
Web developpement:  O2 Web Solutions | Graphic conception: David Leclerc

Collégial
RECHERCHE

Lauréat
GALA FORCES AVENIR
2009


AVENIR 2009
Entraide, paix et justice






Making Waves Montreal

Entraide, paix et justice



Making Waves Montreal

Des étudiants engagés à permettre à des enfants handicapés d’apprendre à nager

Tous les parents souhaitent que leurs enfants apprennent à nager et nombreux sont les cours offerts afin de combler leurs attentes. Mais quand votre enfant est autiste ou trisomique, ou encore qu’il vit avec une déficience auditive ou visuelle, les ressources disponibles pour enseigner la natation se font rares et surtout très onéreuses. En réponse à cette situation, des étudiants de l’Université McGill se sont regroupés et ont créé le programme Making Waves Montreal qui offre à une clientèle particulière des cours de natation privés, le tout à un coût presque… symbolique.

Lançant leur programme en 2004 sous l’appellation Blind Swim Montreal, concentrant ainsi leurs efforts afin de desservir des enfants aux prises avec des difficultés visuelles, les fondateurs ont rapidement compris que les besoins s’étendaient à une clientèle beaucoup plus vaste. « Des parents s’informaient de plus en plus à propos de nous et l’intérêt semblait vraiment là », explique le porte-parole, Matthew Morantz. « Puis c’est en 2006 que nous avons choisi d’élargir notre programme à d’autres besoins spéciaux et d’en changer le nom pour Making Waves Montreal. La première année, nous avions cinq enfants qui participaient, maintenant, nous en avons plus de 40. »

Depuis le commencement, ce sont près de 100 enfants qui ont profité des services de Making Waves et qui ont progressé grâce à leur professeur privé, un étudiant bénévole de McGill. Dépassant la soixantaine, la cohorte de moniteurs a obtenu la formation nécessaire pour faire face à une clientèle d’enfants aux besoins spéciaux. Nécessitant surtout une grande patience, de la persévérance et une bonne dose de créativité, la fonction de moniteur est très gratifiante.

« Alors que l’on m’apprend, en cours, à devenir une ingénieure, on ne m’a jamais appris à devenir une adulte, à m’enraciner dans la collectivité. (…) Making Waves m’a en effet permis de toucher, d’une façon visible et permanente, la vie de quelques jeunes. Mon expérience fut exceptionnellement enrichissante », témoigne Marie-Christine Noël, monitrice bénévole.

Et il n’y a pas que les bénévoles au sein du programme qui font la différence. Alors que Making Waves traversait une période financière plus difficile, d’autres étudiants de McGill se sont mobilisés afin de soutenir financièrement l’organisme lors de levées de fonds et ont pris position en faveur du programme dans les journaux de l’université. « Cet engagement spontané nous a permis d’amasser les dollars nécessaires pour la poursuite de notre mission », explique Matthew, soulignant qu’il en coûte seulement 20 $ aux parents pour obtenir les services d’un moniteur privé pour leur enfant, et ce pour une session complète de neuf leçons.

Le succès de Making Waves dépasse largement la région montréalaise. Motivés par leur réussite, les étudiants du programme ont créé Making Waves Canada, programme qui veillera à l’implantation du modèle dans d’autres universités au pays. Déjà, Making Waves McMaster à Hamilton est opérationnel et un autre devrait suivre prochainement à London.

« Sans ce programme, je n’aurais jamais pu amener Harlan au point où il se trouve maintenant. Je suis vraiment impressionnée par le travail et l’efficacité des étudiants en charge. Longue vie à ce programme », commente Nina L. Padden, mère d’Harlan, un enfant autiste.



Making Waves Montreal




RESSOURCES

VIDÉOS

Get the Flash Player to see this player.


PHOTOS


Voir la galerie de photos


Valoriser l’engagement étudiant pour favoriser l’émergence de nouvelles initiatives ayant une incidence sur les projets de vie des jeunes et leur entourage
Accueil / Programme universitaire / Finalistes / Making Waves Montreal /
Développement web:  O2 Web Solutions | Conception graphique: David Leclerc